The forums are being retired in favor of a new help portal with improved knowlege base and direct access to support. - Please visit our new help portal for information and support.

ClearContext affecting Outlook email editor and Word

Have a support question regarding ClearContext for Microsoft Outlook? Find help here. Be sure to include what version of Outlook and Windows you are using.

Moderator: ClearContext Support

ClearContext affecting Outlook email editor and Word

Postby Bethel Fetterman » Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:58 pm

I've been using ClearContext for about 4 months, with no issues.
This week the laptop hard-drive crashed, and IT replaced my lapotp for me. So I have a fresh install of Word, Outlook etc.
I installed ClearContext v4.6.6 earlier this week, and have been having problems ever since.
Today I uninstalled it, and installed ClearContext v5.0, and am immediately having the same issues.

Here's what's happening, once ClearContext is installed.

Within Outlook, I can create new and reply to emails, but I cannot use the mouse to navigate within the email.
I can use the mouse to click into the various address boxes, and to click into the window for the email body. But once in the email body, I cannot use the mouse to click and move the cursor to different points within the email, such as to click in an area earlier and make an edit. I can only use keyboard commands to navigate to different areas within the email and make edits.

Outside of Outlook, I cannot open Word files by selecting them. I can click on a Word file to highlight and select it, but single- and double-clicking on the document does not allow it to open. I also cannot open it if a highlight to select it and hit "Enter". The only way for me to open a Word file is to first open the Word app (i.e. run Winword.exe), and then use File-Open to choose and open the document.