Page 1 of 1

'You made changes....' message

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:16 am
by mattcooling
On all my e-mail messages there is now a message that states:

'You made changes to another copy of this item. This is the most recent version. Click here to see other versions.'

Why is this happening, and is it possible to stop it - otherwise my mailbox quota will fill up twice as quick as each e-mail message is replicated twice?

Regards,

Matt

Something is Conflicting With ClearContext

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:29 am
by brad
Matt:

When you receive a message, ClearContext automatically appends additional information to it, including its score, topic name, thread id. etc.. If another process changes the message at the same time, a conflict is generated. This can occur if there is another add-in installed that changes messages on receipt or if you use another machine or device that accesses your mail file.

There is a greater impact than just the conflict you see. Depending on which message appears in the inbox, it may look like ClearContext topics are not sticking/ being assigned across all messages in a thread.

I'm going to follow up with a note to the email address you registered with so that we can try and identify the source of the problem and come up with a way to mitigate it.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 4:01 am
by mwarren
Was there ever a resolution to this?

I get the same behaviour with ClearContext 1.1.4. I'm using Outlook 2003 with an Exchange Server.

I was wondering if it had anything to do with having the BlackBerry client (with Exchange Server synchronization) installed?

Blackberry is the likely culprit

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:27 am
by brad
Yes, the conflict is likely caused by interaction with Blackberry. For more detail on this issue, see this post.

We have made improvements in our v2 product to work around this problem. It is currently in beta. If you are interested in beta testing, please send a note to beta@clearcontext.com.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:57 am
by mwarren
Thanks Brad. I don't have access to the Exchange or BlackBerry server but will try re-configuring the client.

I'm looking forward to see V2.0 if it does fix the problem.

Mark